About Deleting Profiles
Warning: Before you begin, keep in mind that deleting a profile is a permanent step — there is no undo and the data cannot be restored.
In this article
What Happens When You Delete a Profile
Deleting a customer profile will also delete all conversations linked to that profile. This includes the following:
- Phone notes
- Chat transcripts
- Email conversations
- Group email conversations in which this the customer participated
- All conversations where the customer was set as the primary customer using Change Customer
Conversations where an email address associated with that customer profile is present in the CC or BCC fields only are not linked to their profile. These conversations will not be deleted.
Keep in mind that deleting a customer profile and the associated conversations is permanent. There is no way to restore the data after deletion.
How to Delete a Profile
By default, account owners and administrators can delete a customer profile. This permission can be changed in the company permission settings. (See User Roles and Permissions for more on that.) To delete a profile, just follow these steps:
Customers from the top menu.
Search to find the customer profile you wish to delete. Click on the customer to bring up a modal version of the profile, then click
Edit Full Profile.
Scroll to the bottom of the full profile to find a red link to
Delete Customer. A modal will ask you to confirm that you want to delete the customer. Remember that there is no undo and the data cannot be restored — if you're sure you're ready to delete that customer profile and all conversations associated with their profile, type in
DELETE and click
Delete Customer to confirm.
Note: If the customer profile you'd like to delete has more than 100 conversations linked to their profile, you'll need to reach out to our support team for an assist — just give us a shout and we'll take care of it for you!