Customer Profiles

Profiles in Help Scout are built automatically when a customer emails your support address for the first time. We'll also create a profile when you compose a new conversation on behalf of the customer. This article talks about editing and updating profile information.

In this article

Edit a Customer Profile

You can edit all profile fields right from a conversation — just click the customer's name in the sidebar — or click Customers in the top menu, find the customer, and click on their name. Changes made in the profile editor are saved automatically.

To access the full conversation history or start a new email, click Edit full profile. 

To delete a customer profile, see About Deleting Profiles for more information on what is deleted and the steps to complete it. 

Profile Fields 

The customer profile offers the following fields by default: 

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Company
  • Job Title
  • Email 
  • Phone
  • Website
  • Address
  • Notes

The Notes field is a good place to add general notes, as those notes show up in the sidebar when you're working on a conversation. To add multiple lines of information to the Notes field, press Shift+Enter to create a new line. 

In addition to the default fields, your Account Owner and Administrators can create additional customer properties that can be populated manually or programmatically. See Customer Properties for more information on that feature! 

Automatically Populate Customer Profiles With FullContact

Help Scout integrates with FullContact, a service that crawls the web to gather publicly available information associated with that customer's email address — including a profile image. Your Account Owner or Administrator can head to Manage > Company Settings > Edit Company and toggle the Enrich Customer Data switch on to allow FullContact to automatically populate the Help Scout customer profile with the data they have collected. 

You can direct the customer to the FullContact Privacy Center to claim and edit their FullContact profile if you find the profile data from FullContact is not accurate. 

There is some housekeeping that you can do within Help Scout, such as removing their image by clicking on the trash can icon when you hover on their photo. You're also able to overwrite certain data, like the Company and Job Title. 

If you toggle Enrich Customer Data off after using it, any previously synced data will remain, but Help Scout will no longer connect to FullContact for updates to existing data or to get new customer data. 

Note: Prior to November 2, 2020 Enrich Customer Data was on by default. We heard your feedback and made a change to the default settings! 

Still stuck? How can we help? How can we help?