Merge duplicate customer profiles

This article will help you understand why it's helpful to merge customer profiles, and how to complete the merge. 

In this article

Why merge profiles?

It's not uncommon for customers to send messages from different email addresses. This can cause a bit of confusion, though. Instead of having one profile for that customer, you might have two or three profiles for the same person. It's helpful to keep conversation history in one place, so if you're up for it, you can merge profiles together to stay organized.

How to merge a profile

1

You'll need to locate both the duplicate account and the account you want to keep. Just search for the profiles by typing customer: into the search bar, along with the customer's name. On the search results page, select the Customers section next to Conversations to see all of the customers who fit within that relevant search result.

2

You should see a couple of customer profile matches. Copy the email address of the account you don't want to keep. In this example, we're not keeping emily@domain.com. Next, click on the profile tile for the account you do want to keep (wilderemily_example@example.net). You'll be taken to the customer's profile page.

3

Under the email field, click the Add an email address link. Paste the address you copied previously. Remember, this address is associated with the account you don't want to keep. We're simply adding it to the main profile so we can merge things together.

4

Click the blue Save Profile button at the bottom of the page. Click the Merge profiles button in the pop-up modal to confirm the changes. Go outside, walk the dog, or just keep working. Whatever.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still stuck? How can we help? How can we help?