About Waiting Since
Waiting Since is designed to give you a quick and accurate read out of how long customers have been waiting for a reply. In most folders across the app, Waiting Since has replaced the Last Updated column. This article walks through the differences between Last Updated and Waiting Since, and why we made the change.
Understanding Last Updated
When you send a reply, add a note, assign a conversation, or change the status of a conversation, the Last Updated timestamp changes to reflect those actions. Additionally, any one of those updates moves the conversation to the top of the queue. The Last Updated timestamp can be misleading, especially if you’re working to get back to customers who have been waiting the longest for a reply.
How Waiting Since Works
The Waiting Since timestamp is updated only when a new thread (a customer or User reply) is created on a conversation. Waiting Since only applies to Active and Pending conversations. When you hop in to the queue to work, conversations are automatically sorted by how long customers have been waiting for a reply. Here’s how it works:
- Waiting Since is shown in all top level folders (except for Drafts) as well as custom folders. You'll also see Waiting Since in reporting drill downs modals.
- Waiting Since displays the most recent reply, from a customer or a User. Notes added by Users do not impact Waiting Since.
- When a customer creates a new conversation, and no Users have replied, the Waiting Since time shows when the conversation was created.
- If a customer sends more than 1 message in a row, Waiting Since will show the oldest timestamp belonging to the first message from the customer.
- Waiting Since only applies to Active or Pending conversations. If a conversation is Closed, the customer is no longer "waiting" for a reply.
- Workflows that send an email to a customer will update the Waiting Since time. For example, a workflow sends an email to the customer, changing the status to Active (or Pending). The Waiting Since time will update, showing when the workflow sent the email.
Waiting Since and Closed Conversations
- In the Closed folder, the Waiting Since column changes to a Closed column. Since a conversation is Closed, the customer is no longer waiting for a reply. The timestamp in the Closed column displays the time the conversation was closed.
- Workflow-based folders that display Closed conversations will also show the time when a conversation was marked as Closed.
- Existing workflows using the Last Updated condition will remain unchanged, and continue to operate normally.
- Going forward, newly created workflows will use Waiting Since. If you edit a workflow to remove the Last Updated condition, it’s gone for good once the edits have been saved.
Waiting Since/Closed times are used in search results.
- The Drafts folder will continue to use the Last Updated timestamp, as draft conversations have not yet been created.