Track message views with Open Tracking
Open Tracking is a feature that allows you to see whether your customer has viewed the message you've sent them. A couple of things to note:
- Open Tracking uses a tracking pixel in your outgoing messages to determine whether a message has been viewed. This is dependent on how your customer views the message and their email provider settings. False positives and false negatives are possible here - some spam blockers and email servers will access that tracking pixel making it report as read, and some email clients won't load that pixel even though the customer has read the message making it report as unread.
- Once a customer has replied to a message, you'll no longer see your Customer viewed note on previous threads, since we can safely assume a reply indicates that the message has been viewed.
- If you send a message to a customer and CC or BCC anyone, their views of the message can also load the tracking pixel and show that the customer has read the message. We don't currently have a way to distinguish who has viewed the message on group conversations.
You can turn this feature on and off in your Company settings.
This is what it looks like on a thread: