Chatting With Customers
Before You Begin
- Administrators: Double check that the Chat toggle is turned on for your Beacon.
- Make sure you’re available to chat by setting your User availability to Available.
- Get familiar with the Help Scout chat interface.
Working With a Live Chat
Accept Your First Chat
Explore Visitor Details
Beacon Sidebar App
Explore the Options Menu
Assign a Chat
If a chat has been accepted by a User it will remain active as long as chat messages are being exchanged. If there has been no customer response in 25 minutes, the Help Bot will advise them that the chat will close soon if they do not respond. After 30 minutes of inactivity the chat will automatically end.
If no User accepts a chat after 5 minutes, Help Bot will apologize to the customer and close the chat. Any messages the customer sent while waiting will be saved in the chat transcript that will go to your Unassigned view as an active conversation. Any Users who were available at the time a missed chat occurred will be automatically set to Assign Only and a notice will display on their screen.