Chat With Customers
You've got a Beacon installed on your web based app or website and have all the settings configured, now let's get to chatting!
If you've not gotten Beacon installed on your site yet, take a look at Add Beacon to Your Website or App to find more help for that, then check out Get Started With Live Chat for help with chat configuration.
In this article
Accept or Assign a Chat
Any Inbox with a chat-enabled Beacon attached will have a Chats folder at the top of the folder list.
Click into the Chats folder to view the chat interface, see what team members are available to chat, and find chat sessions.
You don't have to sit on the chat page and wait for chats either — make sure your notifications are set up the way you'd like, and as long as you're in Help Scout, you'll know when a new chat comes in. Read more: About Chat Notifications
Add Contact Information
Disable Require Email to allow anonymous chats and your visitors can start a chat without entering their information. The visitor will show in chat as Unidentified Visitor.
Ask the chatter for an email address, and you'll see the option to link the chat to that customer. If you have enabled transcripts, they will receive a transcript as long as you enter an email address before the chat end.
In the case of a mistaken address, you can unlink the customer from an unidentified chat by clicking the Undo link.
Explore Visitor Details
Use AI Assist
BETA AI Assist is now available to Plus and Pro plans in chat as well! Use your mouse to highlight the text — or use Cmd + A / Ctrl + A to select all the text in your chat box — and you'll see the sparkle icon appear
Explore the Shortcut Menu
The shortcut menu in chat makes responding and finding information quick and easy. Check out About the Chat Shortcut Menu for a full rundown!
Assign a Chat
If a chat has been accepted by a User it will remain active as long as chat messages are being exchanged. If there has been no customer response in 25 minutes, the Help Bot will advise them that the chat will close soon if they do not respond. After 30 minutes of inactivity the chat will automatically end.
If no User accepts a chat after 5 minutes, Help Bot will apologize to the customer and close the chat. Any messages the customer sent while waiting will be saved in the chat transcript that will go to your Unassigned view as an active conversation. Any Users who were available at the time a missed chat occurred will be automatically set to Assign Only and a notice will display on their screen.