Manage Beacon Contact Settings
Beacon comes with a handful of settings that let you control how your customers get in touch. You might want to use a Beacon with Docs only, just a contact form, or with chat and a contact form. Whatever works best for you, these settings let you dial that stuff in.
Basic Contact Options
Legacy plan and Basic accounts will not see the option to enable chat in Beacon. Your Account Owner can upgrade to a new plan at
Available Plans if you would like to add live chat to your Beacon.
Choose the Help Scout mailbox where you want the messages sent through Beacon to land.
Show Contact Form
Contact form submissions send directly to the mailbox connected mailbox. If you disable this option, customers will only have access to Docs search.
Hit the toggle switch to enable live chat in your Beacon. The option to chat will only show to customers when there are Users who are online and available to chat. See
User Availability and Maximum Chats
for more on chat availability.
Note: The contact form is automatically enabled if you enable chat.
Direct your customers as they view your Beacon in the path that works best for you. The Mode option only appears when both Docs and Contact are in use. Check out
Work With Beacon Modes
for more detail on this feature.
Ask for a Name
Ask visitors to provide their name when they use the Beacon contact form. If you’re using the identify method and customers have used your Beacon before, the name field is automatically hidden.
Note: This field is required if enabled.
Support history security
The Support History feature allows a customer to see all of their previous conversations. This includes Beacon contact for messages, chat transcripts, as well as direct email history. Beacon uses the
Basic security option out of the box, which limits history to the customer’s browser session and device.
- Basic: We use a device ID and a cookie to show support history to customers.
- Advanced: This requires a secure key to implement, and little work on your end, but includes your customer’s full support history on all devices.
Ask for a Subject
Ask customers to provide a subject when they use the Beacon contact form. You can pre-fill the subject line automatically by using the
Note: This field is required when enabled.
Allow customers to upload images or attach files when sending a message through the contact form. There is a maximum file size of 10MB for both images and attachments. Customers can attach up to 3 images or files per message.
Show Custom Fields
Customers on the Plus plan, or customers with the Custom Fields add-on, can show up to five custom fields on the Beacon contact form. We use the same field names you see when viewing a conversation in Help Scout. If you display custom fields to customers, we’d recommend using customer-friendly field names.
Note: If a field is required in the mailbox, it is required on the Beacon contact form.
Choose to have an email transcript emailed to the customer when the chat has ended.
Disable Require Email to allow your visitors to initiate a chat anonymously. Help Bot will not ask for an email address before starting the chat. The Help Scout User who accepts the chat will have the option to add an email address while in the chat session. Enable this feature to require an email address before a chat session begins.
Note: No email transcript will be sent if an email address has not been entered before the chat session has ended, even if the email address is added to the transcript conversation later.
What Information Your Visitors Can See
When you enable the Contact and Chat features, you will be sharing some data about Users in your Help Scout account with visitors to your Beacon.
When visitors toggle the Ask screen, Beacon will check to see which of your teammates are present. The response will include the initials and profile photo URLs for your Help Scout Users. While this is not visible on the Beacon interface, a visitor can view this information if using browser dev tools or some other method to inspect the traffic when the Beacon is loaded.
This screen will display up to 5 user photos of Users that have access to the mailbox that your Beacon is connected to. These 5 Users are selected in alphabetical order–only Users with photos set in their profile will be shown. If no Users with permissions to that mailbox have photos, we do not display any user details.
There is no customization available for this screen at this time. To remove all User information, you can simply remove all user photos from within Help Scout.
A customer connected to a chat session will see the Help Scout User's profile photo, first name/last initial, and title (if set in their profile). If no profile photo has been set for the User, a placeholder image with that User's initials will show instead.
The Help Scout User's first name/last initial and profile photos will show next to their replies in the Previous Messages.