AI Resolutions Pricing
Envoy's Scout helps your customers get accurate answers fast by combining all your knowledge sources into one AI-powered experience. It’s available in all Help Scout plans. Customers who are new to Help Scout receive a free 3-month trial to train the AI on their content and fine-tune it to their customers’ needs. Existing Help Scout customers do not receive a trial period when they begin using Scout.
For customers who are new to Help Scout, charges begin after the free 3-month trial. Customers on any paid plan are charged for each AI resolution — when Scout is able to successfully answer a customer’s question without your team’s help. This article explains how that billing works.
Find more help about Scout here: Scout Collection in Help Scout Docs
The dashboard and options in this article are available to all current Paid plans. If you are on a legacy plan, you will not see this dashboard.
AI Resolutions Defined
A resolution is a single AI chat session that is resolved without help from a human.
When We Charge for a Resolution
You’re only charged for a resolution when:
- Scout provides a response to the customer’s question.
- The customer doesn’t ask for additional help after the last AI response.
You’ll only be charged once per session, even if Scout replies to multiple questions during that session.
We will not charge you for a resolution when:
- Scout greets the customer or asks a follow-up question but doesn’t give a full answer.
- The customer requests more help.
You can review the AI conversations that are billable in the Scout reports. Head to Reports > Scout.
Read more about reviewing these conversations here: Review Scout Conversations
How Resolutions are Billed
Pay As You Go
You will be billed $0.75 per resolution each month.

Charges for AI Resolutions are billed in arrears, meaning any charges you incur in a month will be billed on your next billing date. This is different from most other Help Scout service charges, where we bill in advance.
Monthly billing plan
The charges for the current usage each month will show as a line item on your bill for the following month's service. For example, if your billing date is on the 22nd, on November 22nd you would be billed for AI Resolutions from October 22nd to November 22nd, along with your plan charges for other Help Scout services for November 22nd to December 22nd.
Annual billing plan
The charges for the current usage each month will show as a line item on your bill for the following month's service, and the payment for those charges will be deducted from the credit on your account for your annual pre-payment along with your other charges. This means that your annual credit will be used up faster than a year.
Managing Your AI Spending
Set a monthly spending limit
You control your Scout usage by setting a monthly spending limit based on the number of resolutions.
Administrators and Account Owners can view and update this limit.
Click your avatar or initials in the top right corner of the top navigation bar, click Your Plan then choose Envoy on the left navigation menu. In the Usage this period tile, you'll find a link to Manage.

Or when logged in as an Account Owner or Administrator. just head to this link: Your Plan > Envoy > Manage

What happens when you reach the spending limit
Scout will be disabled in your Beacon until the next cycle or until you raise the limit.
Beacon will automatically switch to another support option according to the Beacon mode settings.
Beacon will switch to the mode you've set at Tools > Beacons > [Choose your Beacon] > Edit Beacon > Docs.
![]()
- Self service: Beacon opens in the Answers screen, and it’s not possible to move to Ask without interacting with the content. The customer must run a search, or open a help article and leave a negative rating, and contact options will then appear.
- Neutral: Beacon will open to either Answers showing the Ask option at the top, or the Ask screen, depending on your Beacon configuration.
Update a monthly spending limit
Update your spending limit at any time. If you increase the limit above your current usage, the change will take effect within an hour.
Note: If you lower your limit to an amount below your current usage, the change will apply starting with your next billing cycle. This functionality may not be available in all accounts yet.