Legacy Plan Changes
We work hard to make sure that Help Scout gets better every day, bringing you new features, improvements, and products. As Help Scout evolves, the plans and pricing we offer do as well.
We’ve created a policy for plan and pricing changes that we believe is fair and transparent to our customers, and also allows us to make decisions that are necessary for the business.
Supporting legacy plans and features is not something we are able to do for the life of your account. We made the mistake in the past of trying to support old plans and features, but it slowed our development pace and wasn't equitable to new customers.
When Help Scout stops offering a plan to new customers, it becomes a "legacy" plan. On the Your Plan page you'll see a note on top that looks something like this if you are on a legacy plan:
Your account will be migrated to a newer plan at some point in the future after your plan has been designated as legacy. Our policy is that customers shouldn’t see their plan price change more than once every two years which determines the timing of that migration.
Your Account Owner will receive an email notice 6 months before your account is migrated from a legacy plan to a current plan, as is required by our Terms of Service. The notification will outline the differences in the old plan and new plan, and offer up any other options that are available to you as part of the transition.
New features and offerings may be available to current plans that are not available to legacy plans. Your Account Owner can always upgrade to a current plan before the migration by heading to Your Plan > Plans and choosing the current plan.
The goal is to be generous to loyal customers, but also to support the business and future evolution of our product offering. If you have any questions about this policy, please let us know!